Event

Webinar on biological diversity: The Road to COP15


Event Details


WATCH THE WEBINAR RECORDING

READ THE PRESS RELEASE (ENESIT)

Translations: French/Italian/Portuguese/Spanish

 

Background

Today we face multiple crises. The COVID health crisis, the climate crisis and the biodiversity crisis are three interconnected crises calling us to change direction towards a regenerative civilization with an integral ecological story and pattern of life. The 2020 United Nations Global Biodiversity Report notes the importance of biodiversity in addressing climate change, long-term food security and concludes that action to protect biodiversity is essential to prevent future pandemics. We, leaders of universities, scientific research and ecclesial bodies sense that we are at an inflection point, with life altering consequences and a responsibility to act. It is time to amplify Pope Francis’ teachings in Laudato Si’ to co-create life giving relationships with creation and inspire thousands of people to do the same with the output of our roundtable, public webinar, education and advocacy to regenerate healthy ecosystems on Earth. When biodiversity flourishes, human life flourishes.

Keynote speakers:

  • Cardinal Peter K.A. Turkson Prefect, Dicastery for Promoting Integral Human Development
  • Dr Jane Goodall Ethologist, Jane Goodall Institute

The event will take place at 12noon Rome time, 6am Washington DC/New York, 8pm Sydney (AEST).


Partners supporting this Dicastery initiative on biodiversity
:
GCCM, REPAM, REBAC, RAOEN, CIDSE, CYNESA, ISVUMI, Columbans, LISTEN, Yale Forum on Religion and Ecology, UISG and PoWR.